SBMI celebrates commencement

Thirteen students received their Master of Science in Health Informatics and two received their Doctor of Philosophy of Health Informatics at The University of Texas School of Biomedical Informatics commencement, held May 8 at the Institute for Molecular Medicine. “The landscape of health care delivery is rapidly changing and informatics is a huge part of that,” Dr. Robert C. Robbins, president and chief executive officer of the Texas Medical Center, told the students. “Bioinformatics sciences are advancing the discovery of life science on a daily basis, and you all play a role.”
Several awards were also announced at the ceremony. The John P. McGovern Outstanding Teacher Award was given to Dr. Yang Gong in recognition of his dedication to his students and teaching. The ceremony also honored faculty member Dr. Noriaki Aoki, who passed away in January at the age of 47, with the 2014 Distinguished Alum Award. The award was accepted on behalf of the Aoki family by Shoko Miyagawa, Ph.D., who worked closely with Aoki on the CHORD-J project at Keio University in Japan. The Paul C. Boyle Award for Excellence in Student Research for fall 2013 was awarded to Taiwo Akinwande, Craig Harrington, and Rodney Howell. Harrington also received the Boyle Award for the spring 2014 semester.
Photos of the commencement ceremony are available at the SBMI Flickr stream. Videos of the commencement ceremony are available at the SBMI YouTube account. Congratulations to the latest SBMI alumni!

2014 Commencement Group Pic

Doctor of Philosophy in Health Informatics
Sina Madani, M.D., M.S.
Sahiti Myneni, M.S.E.
Master of Science in Health Informatics
Jon Banks, B.S.
Gwendolyn R. Brobbey, M.D., M.Ph.
John D. Calhoun, B.S., M.S.
Jennifer Fox, B.S.N.
Rodney Howell, B.S.
Santosh Joshi, B.S.
Derek Meeks, M.D.
Nasim Rezanejad, M.D.
Andrew Saldana, B.S.
Ruth Ungerer, B.S.N.
Charles Van Duyne, M.D.
Gary Walker, M.D., M.Ph.
Peyman Zabihinoury, B.S.

published 05/19/2014 at 3:22 p.m.

Shannon Rasp