Skip to Content
SBMI Horizontal Logo

Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

The UTHealth School of Biomedical Informatics (SBMI) Alumni Association was established as an important arm of the school. The association’s goal is to support our rapidly growing alumni population by providing needed resources and supporting SBMI’s current students. Upon becoming a member of the SBMI Alumni Association, each graduate of the school will serve as an ambassador for our university and the field of informatics. As part of the Alumni Association, SBMI names a Distinguished Alumni Award Winner each year during the annual Commencement Ceremony in May. Here are the past winners.

Award Year Alumni Award Winner
2022 Ashish Joshi, PhD, MPH
2021 Biru Yang, PhD, MPH, MS
2020 Siraj Anwar, MBBS, MS
2019 Muhammad Walji, PhD, MS
2018 Constance Johnson, PhD, MS, RN
2017 Claire Loe, PhD, MPH
2016 Carl Vartian, MD, MS
2015 Adol Esquivel, MD, PhD
2014 Noriaki Aoki, MD, PhD
2013 John Frenzel, MD, MS (Inaugural Winner)