Skip to Content
SBMI Horizontal Logo

Faculty Award

John P. McGovern Outstanding Teacher Award

Students select the faculty member who should receive the award.

The John P. McGovern Outstanding Teacher Award is presented to the teacher who not only provides information, but also contributes to the student's ability to think independently. The recipient must cultivate the students' confidence in the roles for which they are being educated while stimulating their further quest for knowledge and continued professional development.

The award is presented each year to one educator from each of the University of Texas Health Science Center component schools. Dr. McGovern, founder of the McGovern Allergy Clinic and a faculty member of several institutions of the Health Science Center, has endowed the annual award to foster excellence in teaching. The students in each schools nominate candidates from the faculty. The Student Governance Organization facilitates the election process.

Previous recipients

 Award Criteria

  • Knowledge of subject and competency in area of expertise
  • Interest/enthusiasm in teaching
  • Interest in and understanding of students
  • Responsiveness to student questions and encouragement of independent thinking
  • Accessibility to students

 Award Process

  1. During the two weeks of March, an email will be sent to each student in the school requesting all students to write a letter of nomination for the teacher who best fulfills the above criteria.
  2. The SGO representatives will seek formal approval of the John P. McGovern Award for Outstanding Teaching nominations from the SBMI Dean’s Office.
  3. The SGO will prepare a voting ballot (to be sent out by the Office of Academic Affairs) and faculty profiles for the nomination website. Voting will be open for the last two weeks of March.
  4. The award will be made by formal presentation at the spring graduation ceremony by one of the SGO representatives.