Skip to Content
SBMI Horizontal Logo

McWilliams School of Biomedical Informatics

Continuing Education


Welcome to McWilliams School of Biomedical Informatics at UTHealth Houston, formerly UTHealth Houston School of Biomedical Informatics (SBMI) Continuing Education Program! We are pleased to offer HIMSS professionals health informatics courses to help them advance their industry knowledge and earn or maintain appropriate certification.

All Continuing Education courses are available to the general public. Admission to UTHealth academic programs is not required. Please review course listing below for detailed information on all of our Continuing Education opportunities.

Continuing Education Program Benefits
We strive to offer a learning experience that enhances your knowledge about the applications of health IT and introduces you to new and exciting innovations in health care. Our program includes:

  • Federal and industry standards on privacy and security
  • Comprehensive introductory courses on health care data systems and data analytics
  • Competitive pricing
  • Open registration
  • 100% online instruction
  • Up to six months of access to training materials
  • Self-paced courses fit your schedule and availability
  • A Certificate of Completion for each course upon completing course modules and assessments

Details on Continuing Education Courses

In 2016, The School of Biomedical Informatics (SBMI) led the Health Informatics Curriculum and Training for Transformation (HICATT) Program funded by a grant from the Office of the National Coordinator (ONC). HICATT’s mission was to provide informatics training to assist health care professionals to advance transformative care for patients.

In our commitment to developing professional education, McWilliams School of Biomedical Informatics at UTHealth Houston Continuing Education is now offering the HICATT courses as a continuing education program. Please visit our CE Courses page to see the details on our courses that are currently available.

Our five courses can be used for Certification Renewals for CAHIMS and CPHIMS. All five courses total up to the minimum of 25 CEs needed for renewal under Continuing Education.

HIMSS administers two professional certification programs for healthcare information and management systems:

  • CAHIMS (Certified Associate in Healthcare Information and Management Systems) is designed for emerging professionals who may or may not have experience within the industry. CAHIMS is designed to be a pathway for careers in health IT.
  • CPHIMS (Certified Professional in Healthcare Information and Management Systems) is a professional certification program for experienced healthcare information and management systems professionals.

In order to maintain your certification of CAHIMS or CPHIMS, you need to renew every three years. You must obtain 45 CEs during your renewal cycle. A minimum of 25 of the 45 CEs must be obtained from HIMSS or HIMSS-Approved Provider activities.

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact Information

Have additional questions about continuing education courses? Please contact our Continuing Education Staff at or 713-500-3591.