Skip to Content
SBMI Horizontal Logo

John P. McGovern Outstanding Teacher Award

The John P. McGovern Outstanding Teacher Award winner is presented each academic year to an educator from each of the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston component schools. The faculty member who earns the award embodies excellence in teaching.

The award recognizes excellence in teaching based on knowledge of the subject, interest and enthusiasm for teaching, understanding of students, responsiveness to student inquiries, encouragement of independent thinking and accessibility to students.

2021-2022 Robert Murphy, MD
2020-2021 Tiffany Champagne-Langabeer, PhD
2019-2020 Kimberly Smith, PhD
2018-2019 Tiffany Champagne-Langabeer, PhD
2017-2018 Angela Ross, DNP, MPH
2016-2017 Todd Johnson, PhD
2015-2016 Sahiti Myneni, PhD, MSE
2014-2015 Kimberly Smith, PhD
2013-2014 Yang Gong, MD, PhD
2012-2013 Trevor Cohen, MBChB, PhD
2011-2012 Juliana J. Brixey, RN, PhD
2010-2011 Madurai Sriram Iyengar, PhD
2009-2010 Dean Forrest Sittig, PhD
2008-2009 Paul T. Macklin
2007-2008 Stefan Birmanns, PhD
2006-2007 Willy Wriggers, PhD
2005-2006 Kimberly Dunn, MD, PhD
2004-2005 Elmer V. Bernstam, MD, MSE
2003-2004 Wily R. Wriggers, PhD
2002-2003 Cynthia L. Phelps, PhD
2001-2002 Jiajie Zhang, PhD
2000-2001 Kathy Johnson, PhD
1999-2000 James P. Turley, PhD
1998-1999 Craig W. Johnson, PhD

Dean’s Excellence Award

The School of Biomedical Informatics (SBMI) Dean’s Excellence award was first awarded in 2019. It is given annual and acknowledges SBMI faculty members for exceptional performance in three different categories: research, teaching, and innovation.

The measurement for this performance considers achievements like high impact publications, novel course development, and innovative projects in applied domains.

2019-2020 Winners:
Research – James Langabeer II, PhD, EdD
Teaching – Angela Ross, DNP and Debora Simmons, PhD
Innovation – Amy Franklin, PhD, Sahiti Myneni, PhD, MSE and Deevakar Rogith, PhD
2018-2019 Winners:
Research – Luca Giancardo, PhD
Teaching – Kimberly Smith, PhD
Innovation – Xiaoqian Jiang, PhD

Regents' Outstanding Teaching Awards (ROTA)

In 2008, the University of Texas System Board of Regents established the annual Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards program to honor extraordinary classroom performance and innovation. Each recipient receives a certificate, a medallion, and $25,000 in appreciation of their impact on students and their institutions.

UT System (ROTA):
Susan Fenton, PhD – 2019 Awardee
M. Sriram Iyengar, PhD – 2014 Awardee

American College of Medical Informatics (ACMI) Fellows

This group of elected fellows includes professionals who are recognized for their significant and sustained contributions to the field of biomedical informatics. ACMI Fellows are eligible to use the designation FACMI and membership is open to informaticians across the globe.

The measurement for this performance considers achievements like high impact publications, novel course development, and innovative projects in applied domains.

SBMI ACMI Fellows:
  Elmer Bernstam, MD, MSE (2010)
  John Glaser, PhD (1995, adjunct professor)
  Michael Shabot, MD (1991, adjunct professor)
  Hardeep Singh, MD (2014, adjunct professor)
  Dean Sittig, PhD (1992)
  Cui Tao, PhD (2018)
  Hua Xu, PhD (2014)
  Jiajie Zhang, PhD (2003)
  Zhongming Zhao, PhD (2021)

Fellows of AMIA (FAMIA)

Individuals who receive this distinction are recognized AMIA members who apply informatics skills and knowledge within their professional setting. Fellows also demonstrate professional achievement and leadership during their sustained commitment to the betterment of AMIA.

SBMI Fellows of AMIA:
  Elmer Bernstam, MD, MSE (2022)
  Jorge Ferrer, MD, MBA (2018, adjunct assistant professor)
  Susan Fenton, PhD (2022)
  Todd Johnson, PhD (2022)
  Robert Murphy, MD (2021)
  Dean Sittig, PhD (2019)
  Jiajie Zhang, PhD (2020)
  Zhongming Zhao, PhD (2022)

Fellow Member of HIMSS (FHIMSS)

This honor is bestowed in recognition of a Fellow’s service, professional participation, job experience, publications, and presentations. Members demonstrate their commitment to transforming global health and wellness. Additionally, they are recognized as elite contributors to HIMSS and to the global health information and technology community.

SBMI Fellow Member of HIMSS:
  Tiffany Champagne-Langabeer, PhD (2021)

Fellows of the American College of Healthcare Executives (FACHE)

The American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) is the nation’s leading professional society for healthcare leaders. To obtain Fellow status, candidates must fulfill multiple requirements, including meeting academic and experiential criteria, earning continuing education hours, demonstrating professional/community involvement and passing a comprehensive examination. Fellows also are committed to ongoing professional development and undergo recertification every three years.

SBMI Fellows of ACHE:
  Karima Lalani, PhD, MBA, RHIA, FACHE (2021)

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) Winners

The PECASE is the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. Three members of the SBMI community have been named recipients of this prestigious award.

  Hardeep Singh, MD (2012; adjunct professor)
  Cui Tao, PhD (2014)
  Muhammad Walji, PhD (2013; adjunct professor and alumna)

International Academy of Health Sciences Informatics (IAHSI) Fellows

The Academy serves as an honor society that recognizes expertise in biomedical and health informatics internationally. Academy Membership is one of the highest honors in the international field of biomedical and health informatics.

  Yang Gong, MD, PhD (2021)
  Dean Sittig, PhD (2017)
  Jiajie Zhang, PhD (2020)