Skip to Content
SBMI Horizontal Logo

NCCD & SHARPC Personnel



  • Jiajie Zhang, PhD - Principal Investigator, Dean and Professor, School of Biomedical Informatics, UTHealth


  • Muhammad Walji, PhD- Associate Dean for Technology Services and Informatics and Associate Professor of Diagnostic Sciences, School of Dentistry


Executive Operations Director

  • Krisanne Graves, PhD, RN, CPHQ - SBMI



  • David Robinson, MD - Medical School/Emergency Medicine
  • Dean Sittig, PhD - SBMI
  • Todd Johnson, PhD - SBMI

Associate Professors

  • Trevor Cohen, MBChB, PhD - SBMI
  • Yang Gong, PhD - SBMI
  • Bela Patel, MD, DABSM, FCCP - Medical School/Division Director of Critical Care Medicine
  • Muhammad Walji, PhD - School of Dentistry/Associate Dean for Technology Services and Informatics

Assistant Professors


Post Docs

  • Erel Joffe, MD, MSc

PhD Students

  • Franck Diaz
  • Lei Hua
  • Eliz Markowitz
  • Vickie Nguyen, MA, MS
  • Deevakar Rogith
  • Ning Shang
  • Zhen (June) Zhang, MD

MS Students

  • Ruiling Liu
  • Adriana Stanley


  • Keith Butler, PhD
  • Kim Dunn, MD, PhD
  • Robert Greenes, MD, PhD
  • Mark Hasselkorn PhD
  • Todd Johnson, PhD
  • Elsbeth Kalenderian, DDS
  • Nnaemeka Okafor, MD, MS
  • Rachel Ramoni, DDS, PhD
  • Roger Schvaneveldt, PhD
  • Ben Shneiderman, PhD
  • Hardeep Singh, MD
  • Min Zhu, MD, PhD



  • Jiajie Zhang, PhD - Principal Investigator,Dean and Professor, School of Biomedical Informatics, UTHealth
  • Muhammad Walji, PhD - Associate Director and Co-Investigator, Associate Dean for Technology Services and Informatics, Associate Professor, School of Dentistry, UT Health
  • Krisanne Graves, PhD, RN, CPHQ, Executive Operations Director


  • Jack Smith, MD, PhD - Chair
  • Sameer Bhat - Vendor and Co-Founder and VP of eClinicalWorks
  • Ralph Farr - Hospitals/Providers and VP of Information Services, UTMB at Galveston
  • Douglas Fridsma, MD, PhD - ONC Liaison, Director, Office of Standards and Interoperability, ONC
  • Melanie True Hills - Patient Groups Founder and CEO,
  • James Ingram, MD - Vendor, Chief Medical Officer, Greenway Medical Technologies
  • John Joe, MD, MPH - Professional Associations President, Harris County Academy of Family Physicians; Baylor College of Medicine
  • David McCallie Jr., MD - Vendor, VP for Medical Informatics, Director of the Cerner Medical Informatics Institute, Cerner Corporation
  • W. Paul Nichol, MD - Vendor National Director of Medical Informatics, Patient Care Services, Veterans Health Administration (listed under Vendors for VA's development efforts
  • Donald A. Norman, PhD - Visiting Distinguished Professor, KAIST (Daejeon, South Korea), Nielsen Norman Group
  • Thomas Payne, MD - Committee Medical Director, Information Technology Services, University of Washington Medical Center
  • Jacob Reider, MD - ONC Liaison, Program Manager, ONC
  • Tobias C. Samo, MD, FACP - Vendor Chief Medical Officer, Allscripts
  • Michael Shabot, MD - Hospital/Providers, Sr. VP and System Chief Medical Officer, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System
  • Debora Simmons, PhD, RN - Sr. VP and Chief Quality Officer, St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital System
  • Michael Speer, MD - Professional Associations Representative for Texas Medical Association, Baylor College of Medicine
  • James Spohrer, PhD - Vendor, Director, IBM Almaden Services Research
  • Laura Batz Townsend - Patient Groups, Founder and Director, Lousie H. Batz Hospital Awareness Fund
  • Charlotte Weaver, RN, PhD - Hospitals/Providers, Sr. VP and Chief Clinical Officer, Gentiva Health Services
  • Patricia B. Wise, RN, MS, MS, FHISS - Professional Associations Vice President, Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS)
  • David Woods, PhD - Professor, Department of Integrated Systems Engineering and Director, Center for Complexity in Natural, Social, and Engineered Systems, Ohio State University; Past President, Human Factors; Ergonomics Society of Washington Medical Center



  • Swaroop Gantela - UTHealth
  • Min Zhu - UTHealth